The College of Physicians: CP (CMSA)

Dr Jacob Merika Letlhoo Tsitsi
Prof Nomandla Daphne Madala
Prof Ntobeko Ayanda Bubele Ntusi



Guidelines for Presidents and Secretaries of Constituent Colleges


DU TOIT, Riette
GOGELA, Neliswa
GOVIND, Nimmisha Harilall
KALLA, Ismail Sikander
MASHABANE, Mduduzi John
MEINTJES, Graeme Ayton
TSABEDZE , Nqoba Israel

Dr Merika Tsits


Dr Merika Tsitsi graduated from the University of the Witwatersrand with an MBBCh in 1987 and became a Fellow of the College of Physicians in 1993. He worked as a Consultant and Head of Department at Tembisa hospital and was appointed as Head of the Department of Internal Medicine at Chris Hani Baragwanath Academic Hospital in 2015, a position he currently holds.

Dr Tsitsi’s interests include the fields of Infectious Disease, health systems improvement and teaching and training. He is the current President of the College of Physicians and is a member of the Senate of the Colleges of Medicine of South Africa and sitting on the Social and Ethics Committee.

Dr Tsitsi has served as an examiner, convenor, and moderator for the Fellowship of the College of Physicians exams and a moderator for the Diploma in Internal Medicine. He has also worked on the curriculum for the Certificate in General Medicine at the College of Physicians. He is a member of the Undergraduate and postgraduate Committee of the Department of Internal Medicine and has served as a member of the Professional and Ethical Standards Committee at Wits.

Dr Tsitsi is the Chairperson of the Palliative Care Board of the University of the Witwatersrand. He has as an HPCSA panellist for postgraduate training programme accreditation and has previously served as a member of the Ministerial Advisory Committee on Health Technology, as well as the Gauteng Department of Health Clinical Governance Advisory Committee.