About CMSA / Committees

Education Committee

The Education Committee comprises members of Senate resident in the KwaZulu-Natal region, and a number of additional co-opted members. The Committee deals with educational issues in its broadest sense, including CPD, educational development programmes, lectureships and the syllabi of trainees.

duties & responsibilities

The responsibilities of the standing committees are by the approval and authority of the Senate and all matters of a new or fundamentally different nature are therefore referred to Senate for consideration.
The fundamental duties and responsibilities of the Education Committee are:

  1. Approving and accrediting educational activities aimed at the preparation of candidates for examinations of the CMSA.
  2. Revising, updating and maintaining the examination syllabi.
  3. Guiding candidates on the conduct of studies and improvement of examination performance.
  4. Promoting and encouraging Fellows, Diplomates and Certificants to become involved in the training and mentoring of future candidates.
  5. Accrediting and administering the Continuing Professional Development activities of the CMSA and issuing points.
  6. Co-ordinating eponymous professorships and lectureships.
  7. Administering all the professional development programmes, including visits to the Eastern Cape and sub-Saharan Africa.
  8. Managing the Scholarships of the constituent Colleges.

durban education Committee

Executive Director: Education and Assessment
Prof Vanessa Burch

Executive Assistant: Education and Assessment
Riefda Thompson

Publications Manager
Sharleen Stone

Education and Assessment Unit Co-ordinator
Bianca van der Westhuizen

Examinations Material Administrator
Bronwyn Williams

Senior Administrations Officer
Nomvula Ncala


Education Administrator
Evelyn Chetty

Education Administrator
Nelisha Govender

General Assistant
Nelisiwe Myeza