The College of Ophthalmologists: C OPHTH (CMSA)
Prof Aubrey Mokokomadi
Dr Anine Kritzinger
Prof Linda Visser


Guidelines for Presidents and Secretaries of Constituent Colleges


DU TOIT, Nagib
HEYDENRYCH, Leonard Goussard
MAKUNYANE, Priscilla Marurugane Seipati
MBAMBISA, Bayanda Nothemba
SEOBI, Teboho
YOUNG, Matthew James

Prof Aubrey Makgotloe


Prof Aubrey Makgotloe holds the position of the Academic Head of the Division of Ophthalmology, Department of Neurosciences at the university of the Witwatersrand and the Clinical Head of the department of Ophthalmology at Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg academic Hospital, where he serves as the Chief specialist in the vitreoretina service.

He completed his specialty training in Ophthalmology at Wits University, during which time he was awarded: The Sam and Nora Cohen Award for the young researcher of the year, Best Registrar paper presented at the annual congress of the Ophthalmological Society of South Africa, the Elie Dahan Ophthalmic Surgery Award and the TetJe Pattison award for Ophthalmology.

He then joined the division of ophthalmology as a joint appointee, initially based at St John Eye Hospital as a consultant, and later at Charlotte Maxeke Johannesburg Academic Hospital (CMJAH) as a senior consultant in the vitreoretinal unit. He is very passionate about the training of young specialist in South Africa, evidenced by his involvement in the colleges of medicine of South Africa (CMSA) as the current President of the College of Ophthalmologists, chair of the board of examiners in the College of Ophthalmologists, the Honorary Registrar of the Education Committee of the CMSA, a senator and member of the board of the CMSA.

He continues to be involved in the prevention of blindness caused by retinal disorders as a member of the Scientific and Medical Advisory Board of RETINA SOUTH AFRICA.