Education / Awards

Maurice Weinbren Award in Radiology

The Maurice Weinbren Award consists of a medal and a certificate.The award is made annually (in respect of a calendar year) by the Senate of The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa (CMSA) for a paper of sufficient merit, dealing with either Radiodiagnosis, Radiotherapy, Nuclear Medicine or Diagnostic Ultrasound.The paper must have appeared in any recognised medical journal published in South Africa or elsewhere, during the calendar year specified in the advertisement inviting applications.

The applicant must submit three reprints to:

Evelyn Chetty
The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa(CMSA)
5 Claribel Road, Windermere, Durban

Telephone: +27 31 261 8213 or +27 31 261 8518
Fax: +27 31 261 3784
Email Addresses:


  • Where the paper has had more than one author, the application for the award must be accompanied by a letter from the co-authors indicating the extent to which the applicant was involved in the work on which the paper is based.
  • The Selection Committee consists of three members of the College of Radiologists of the CMSA, appointed by the Chairperson.
  • The Selection Committee has the discretion to decide whether any person shall be recommended for the award on more than one occasion.
  • Any persons registered as a diagnostic radiologist with the Health Professions Council of South Africa (full or limited registration) for a period not exceeding 5 years OR registrars in training in radiology in an approved training post in South Africa (including approved supernumerary post) are eligible for the award.
  • Members of the Selection Committee of the College of Radiologists are not eligible.
  • If in any year, the Selection Committee does not consider any of the papers submitted to be of sufficient merit, no award will be made.
  • The decision of the Selection Committee in connection with the making of the award is ratified by the Senate of the CMSA.
  • The closing date for applications is 15 January of the following year, to give applicants sufficient time to submit articles which were published late in the year for which the award is made.
  • The medal is presented by the Chairperson of the College of Radiologists of the CMSA at a meeting of the Radiological Society or similar radiological workshops or congresses, to ensure that the presentation is made under the auspices of the CMSA.