The Senate of the CMSA

Senate meetings are held biannually, on the Thursday and Friday of the CMSA examination week, usually in April/May and October. The Senate manages the business and affairs of the CMSA and has the power to elect Fellows, Members, Certificants and Diplomates; make regulations; appoint officers; appoint Councils, committees and sub-committees and delegate powers to these Committees; make policy decisions; appoint panels of examiners; authorise expenditure and attend to matters of routine business.

Constitution of the Senate of the CMSA

The Senate manages the business and affairs of The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa and is constituted as follows:

  1. The immediate past president of the CMSA (retiring president), the president, elected members and co-opted officers and/or members, who will serve the needs of the Senate, appointed by the elected members of the Senate.
  2. The large constituent Colleges, namely Anaesthetists, Family Practitioners, Obstetricians and Gynaecologists, Paediatricians, Physicians and Surgeons (General) are represented by so many persons as are determined by Senate, elected by the Councils of their Colleges. Each of these representatives have two votes at Senate meetings.
  3. The small constituent Colleges, namely Cardiothoracic Surgeons, Dentistry, Dermatologists, Emergency Medicine, Forensic Pathologists, Maxillo-Facial and Oral Surgeons, Neurologists, Neurosurgeons, Nuclear Physicians, Ophthalmologists, Orthopaedic Surgeons, Otorhinolaryngologists, Pathologists, Plastic Surgeons, Psychiatrists, Public Health Medicine, Radiation Oncologists, Radiologists and Urologists are also represented by so many persons as are determined by Senate, elected by the Councils of their Colleges but each of these representatives have one vote at Senate meetings.
  4. The Diplomates, who do not hold a specialist qualification, are represented by so many persons as are determined by Senate, but with the proviso that no more than one Diplomate so elected belong to a particular constituent College. Each of the Diplomate representatives have one vote at Senate meetings.

The Senate may appoint such observers as it may from time to time deem appropriate, but observers have no voting rights at Senate meetings.

Members of the Senate

Prof J J (Johan) Fagan President
Prof M Z (Zach) Koto Vice President
Prof J N (Johnny) Mahlangu Vice President
Prof F (Flavia) Senkubuge Immediate Past President
Prof R D (Richard) Pitcher Honorary Treasurer
Prof P D (Dean) Gopalan Chairperson EC
Dr A (Aubrey) Makgotloe Honorary Registrar EC
Prof M V (Mthunzi) Ngcelwane Chairperson ECC
Prof V (Victor) Mngomezulu Honorary Registrar ECC
Prof A (Alan) Davidson Chairperson FGPC
Prof S (Soraya) Seedat Honorary Registrar FGPC

Prof E (Eric) Buch Chief Executive Officer
Prof V (Vanessa) Burch Executive Director: Education & Assessment
Ms T Y (Yolokazi) Kanzi Academic Registrar
Mr J (Jerome) Davies Executive Director: Finance & Administration

SEEDAT Prof R (Riaz) UFS

HAMMOND Dr A S (Ashley) College of For. Path.
KABAALE Dr M H (Moses) College of O&G


At the close of each third ordinary annual general meeting of The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa (CMSA), all the members of Senate and members of constituent College Councils retire from office, but are eligible for re-election.The new Senate and Councils of constituent Colleges therefore take office after each cycle of three years, at the close of the ordinary annual general meeting.

The elections are conducted in the strictest of confidence and members are eligible to vote only in an election in their respective constituent College. For election purposes, those belonging to more than one College have to select the dominant College for this purpose.

The constituent College Councils are elected by their constituency and the Diplomates of the CMSA vote for two Diplomate representatives (who do not hold specialist qualifications) on each of their respective constituent College Councils.

The newly elected Councils each elect two representatives on Senate and the Diplomate representatives elected to the constituent College Councils elect two Diplomate representatives on Senate who do not hold specialist qualifications. The Honorary Officers of the CMSA are elected at the first meeting of the new Senate but the election of the President and Vice Presidents take place half-way through the tenure of office of the Senate to ensure continuity. The person so elected serves as President-elect for a period of six months before officially taking office.

Court of Honour

A Court of Honour comprising persons who have served The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa (CMSA) and who have advanced its aims and interests to a significant degree, and who continues to do so, was established in 1983. Members of the Court of Honour are elected for life by the Senate of the CMSA; they are also admitted to the Court of Honour at the customary CMSA admission ceremonies and their names are permanently inscribed in the annals of the CMSA.