The College of Neurologists: C NEUROL (CMSA)
André Hans-Dieter Mochan
Prof Anandan Angamuthu Moodley
Prof Lawrence Tucker


Guidelines for Presidents and Secretaries of Constituent Colleges
Prof André Hans-Dieter Mochan


André Mochan is an Associate Professor in the Division of Neurology at WITS and has been Clinical Head of Neurology at Chris Hani Baragwanath Academic Hospital since 2009.

In 2022 he was appointed Academic Head of Neurology. After completion of his medical undergraduate training at LMU Munich, Germany, he spent his internship year at Baragwanath Hospital, and thereafter never turned back, completing all postgraduate and specialist neurology training and further education there and at the University of the Witwatersrand. His early academic career has been largely influenced and shaped by the HIV epidemic, leading to an interest in the wide variety of its neurological manifestations. This has led to numerous publications to ultimately characterise and improve diagnosis, treatment, and care of patients with HIV related neurological diseases in our setting. In 2014 he established a dedicated multidisciplinary Motor Neuron Disease / Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (MND/ALS) Clinic at Chris Hani Bara. Through the MND/ALS clinic he participates in the drive for yet almost non-existent genomic research on African ALS patients. Prof Mochan is a senior examiner/convener/moderator for the Fellowship of the College of Neurology in the CMSA; he is the WITS representative on the College of Neurology Executive Committee. He is the current Secretary of the College of Neurologists. Prof Mochan is also an executive member and recent office bearer of the Neurology Association of South Africa (NASA).

Prof Anand Moodley


Honorary associate professor, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Affiliated associate professor, University of the Free State, South Africa

Anand Moodley is consultant neurologist at Inkosi Albert Luthuli Hospital and associate professor at the University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban South Africa. He has previously served as HOD of neurology at the University of the Free State, South Africa and continues affiliation as associate professor. He was the head of neurology at Greys Hospital in Pietermaritzburg from 2003 to 2017. He completed his undergraduate medical degree from the University of Natal and neurology fellowship with the College of Neurology. He holds fellowships from the European Board of Neurology and the Royal College of Physicians of Canada. He has a masters degree in health professions education and a PhD in neurology. He completed a neuro-ophthalmology fellowship in Vancouver, Canada and has a special interest in eye movement disorders. His focus of research lies in neuro-ophthalmology, and he takes great pleasure in the teaching of general neurology and neuro-ophthalmology to undergraduate and post graduate students. He supervises masters and doctoral students and has played an active role in the College of Neurology as examiner, convenor, and moderator for the neurology fellowship exams. He is associate editor of the Neuro-ophthalmology journal, which is the official journal of the European Neuro-ophthalmology society. He is a reviewer for the National Research Foundation for the rating of health care researchers and has served as a councillor for the College of Neurology previously.