The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa
SA Dept of Health Website

Oxford Nuffield Medical Scholarship 2014/2015

Posted: 2014-03-03 19:43

Applications are invited for an award under the Scheme for Oxford Nuffield Medical Fellowships normally to be held in a department within the Medical Science Division of the University. This prestigious fellowship carries an allowance of £41,564 (plus any cost of living increases). This allowance is subject to United Kingdom tax. The Trustees will also pay direct, economy class return air fares for the appointee, his/her spouse and children up to the age of 18 years. A generous baggage allowance is also provided.
Applicants should have graduated from one of the universities listed below and should either hold a medical qualification or have appropriate research experience. There is no limit as to age or status.
The fellowship is tenable for two years in the first instance, with the possibility of an extension for a third year. Fellows are expected to return to South Africa at the end of the fellowship to continue to do work of a similar nature.

The award is available from 1 October 2014 or, subject to consultation with the University’s Medical Sciences Office and the department concerned, from such other later date as may be agreed. The next round of Nuffield Medical Fellowship for South Africa will be in 2015/16.

Further information, including details of the research interests of those departments in which the fellowship may be held may be obtained from the Chairman of the Selection Committee and at website

If the fellow requires a Visa to come to UK, a Tier 5 Temporary Worker Visa ( will be sponsored by the University to allow the fellow to undertake Collaborative Research (only). Supplementary employment (such as clinical work) might be permitted only if the speciality is listed by the UKBA as a shortage occupation (Medical practitioners- 2211) – see Please note that the Visa regulations are constantly updated by the UK Border Agency.

Participating Universities
University of Cape Town, University of Limpopo, University of KwaZulu-Natal, University of the Free State, University of Pretoria, University of Stellenbosch, University of the Witwatersrand.
Further information may be obtained from Ms Faiza Pearce at Details of the research interests of those departments in which the fellowship may be held may be obtained at the website

Candidates must provide a letter describing their plans and proposed work at Oxford University (prior contact with suitable academic hosts at Oxford University is highly recommended), as well as a full curriculum vitae and the names of at least three contactable referees should be sent, only via e-mail to Ms Faiza Pearce at by no later than 31 May 2014.

Images attached to "Oxford Nuffield Medical Scholarship 2014/2015"

Documents attached to "Oxford Nuffield Medical Scholarship 2014/2015"

Document Oxford Nuffield Medical Scholarship 2014/2015
© 2000- The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa.
All rights reserved.

Digital Certification
Legal Information

  • Auditors: Motlanalo Chartered Accountants and Auditors Inc.
  • VAT Number: 4210273191
  • Incorporated Association not for gain (Reg. No. 1955/000003/08)
  • Nonprofit Organisation (Reg. No. 009-874 NPO)
  • President
  • Professor Johannes Fagan

  • Immediate Past President
  • Professor Flavia Senkubuge

  • Chief Executive Officer
  • Professor Eric Buch
  • Email:
Administration and Finance Office

  • Mr Jerome Davies, Executive Director: Finance and Administration
  • The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa
  • 17 Milner Road, Rondebosch, 7700
  • Tel: +27 (0)21 689 9533
  • Email:
Examination Contact Information

  • Mrs Yolokazi Kanzi, Academic Registrar
  • The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa
  • Private Bag X23, Braamfontein, 2017
  • Tel: +27 (0)11 726 7037
  • Email: