The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa
SA Dept of Health Website

CMSA Admission Ceremony Durban 4th May 2023

Posted: 2023-05-03 11:59

CMSA Admission Ceremony Durban: 192 medical specialists admitted as members on 4th May 2023.

The Admission Ceremony in Durban is the third hosted in 2023, to honour the 1862 candidates who successfully passed their CMSA examinations in 2022: 120 Certificants, 749 Fellows and 993 Diplomates. Amongst the 1862 candidates, are 239 successful candidates from Kwazulu-Natal, including a sub-specialist in Infectious Diseases, a Pulmonologist, Gastroenterologist, Cardiologist, Neonatologist, three Nephrologists, a Paediatric Neurologist, Trauma Surgeon and three Vascular Surgeons. We are very honoured and privileged to have Dr Imtiaz Sooliman, founder of the Gift of the Givers Foundation, a medical doctor, spiritual leader, humanitarian and philanthropist, to deliver the oration at this event.

While the core of medical specialist training is in the hands of universities, through its primary role as an educational and postgraduate examining body, the CMSA is committed to promoting the highest professional and ethical standards. By energetically pursuing the goal of making its multi-disciplinary resources available to other states in Africa, the CMSA is committed to improving access to specialist health care and the health of all the people in South Africa and across the African Continent.

The CMSA also actively engages with Medical Colleges in Africa and across the globe in pursuit of collaboration and improved training of medical specialists and sub-specialists and continuously strives to improve communication and collaboration with key stakeholders regarding Health System Policies and equitable access to specialist medical health care.

Dr D Naidoo, one of the successful candidates who will be admitted on 4th May 2023, receiving his academic gown from CMSA staff member, Julius Ngamlana


Images attached to "CMSA Admission Ceremony Durban 4th May 2023"

© 2000- The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa.
All rights reserved.

Digital Certification
Legal Information

  • Auditors: Motlanalo Chartered Accountants and Auditors Inc.
  • VAT Number: 4210273191
  • Incorporated Association not for gain (Reg. No. 1955/000003/08)
  • Nonprofit Organisation (Reg. No. 009-874 NPO)
  • President
  • Professor Johannes Fagan

  • Immediate Past President
  • Professor Flavia Senkubuge

  • Chief Executive Officer
  • Professor Eric Buch
  • Email:
Administration and Finance Office

  • Mr Jerome Davies, Executive Director: Finance and Administration
  • The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa
  • 17 Milner Road, Rondebosch, 7700
  • Tel: +27 (0)21 689 9533
  • Email:
Examination Contact Information

  • Mrs Yolokazi Kanzi, Academic Registrar
  • The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa
  • Private Bag X23, Braamfontein, 2017
  • Tel: +27 (0)11 726 7037
  • Email: