The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa
SA Dept of Health Website

Appointment of CEO:
Prof Eric Buch

Posted: 2020-02-28 16:50

The CMSA is pleased to announce the appointment of Prof Eric Buch as the Chief
Executive Officer.

We are pleased to inform you that Prof Eric Buch has been appointed as the Chief
Executive Officer (CEO) of The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa (CMSA).
Prof Eric Buch MBBCh, MSc(Med), DTM&H, DOH, FFCH(CM)(SA) is a stalwart of
the medical fraternity, a Professor of Health Policy and Management at the
University of Pretoria (UP) and formerly Dean of its Faculty of Health Sciences
(Schools of Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing and Health Care Sciences and Public
Health). He leads its Albertina Sisulu Executive Leadership Programme in Health.
Prof Buch was formerly lead Health Adviser for the New Partnership for Africa’s
Development (NEPAD); Deputy Director General for Health Care in Gauteng
Province; Executive Director for Health, Housing and Urbanisation of Johannesburg
and a Director of the Centre for Health Policy at the University of the Witwatersrand.
He also served as General Secretary of the anti-apartheid National Progressive
Primary Health Care Network, was active in the National Medical and Dental
Association and co-founded the University of the Witwatersrand Rural Health
Services Development Unit in Bushbuckridge.

Prof Buch is the Chair of the Board of the National Health Laboratory Service and
formerly served on the Boards of the Global Health Workforce Alliance and Health
Systems Trust. In 2015 he was awarded the Public Health Association of South
Africa’s “Phila” Lifetime Achievement Award. Prof Buch’s appointment is historic as it
is the first time ever in CMSA’s 65 year history that a medical specialist is appointed
as CMSA’s CEO.

We are delighted and honoured as the CMSA, and look forward to working with Prof
Buch in his role as the CMSA CEO.

Images attached to "Appointment of CEO:
Prof Eric Buch"

Documents attached to "Appointment of CEO:
Prof Eric Buch"

Document Appointment of CEO
© 2000- The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa.
All rights reserved.

Digital Certification
Legal Information

  • Auditors: Motlanalo Chartered Accountants and Auditors Inc.
  • VAT Number: 4210273191
  • Incorporated Association not for gain (Reg. No. 1955/000003/08)
  • Nonprofit Organisation (Reg. No. 009-874 NPO)
  • President
  • Professor Johannes Fagan

  • Immediate Past President
  • Professor Flavia Senkubuge

  • Chief Executive Officer
  • Professor Eric Buch
  • Email:
Administration and Finance Office

  • Mr Jerome Davies, Executive Director: Finance and Administration
  • The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa
  • 17 Milner Road, Rondebosch, 7700
  • Tel: +27 (0)21 689 9533
  • Email:
Examination Contact Information

  • Mrs Yolokazi Kanzi, Academic Registrar
  • The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa
  • Private Bag X23, Braamfontein, 2017
  • Tel: +27 (0)11 726 7037
  • Email: